Fast Facts – The Abu Dhabi GP

F1statThe championship is decided, the battle for glory is almost over. This weekend marks the final time the Formula One World Circus will gather with the current cars to race (although, there will be a post-race test). Our resident statistician has been looking at the facts and stats of Abu Dhabi and they make for some interesting reading. We thank @F1StatMan for being a part of the team this year. Enjoy these final #FastFacts for 2017.


Yas Marina #F1PP

This is the ninth Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. It first appeared on the calendar in 2009 and has been a fixture ever since.

Sebastian Vettel (2009, 2010, 2013) and Lewis Hamilton (2011, 2014, 2016) are the most successful drivers at Yas Marina with three wins each. Mercedes and Red Bull Racing are the most successful constructors, likewise tied on three wins each.

Vettel’s wins all came for Red Bull but Hamilton is the only driver to have the distinction of winning the race for two constructors, taking his first Abu Dhabi victory for McLaren and the latter pair with Mercedes. The other winners at the circuit are Kimi Raikkonen, who won for Lotus in 2012, and Nico Rosberg, who won for Mercedes in 2015.

Hamilton also has three pole positions, starting from P1 at the inaugural race in 2009, in 2012 and last year. Pole hasn’t been particularly lucky: the winner has started from pole three times (2010, 2015, 2016) — but equally, three times (2009, 2011, 2012) the pole sitter has recorded a DNF, while 2014 polesitter Rosberg was classified 14th after an ERS failure. The race has been won from second on the grid four times, with Raikkonen’s win in 2012 coming from the furthest back. He started fourth.

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix has always been held in November and has hosted the season finale five times. Three of those have been Drivers’ Championship deciders. Victory for Sebastian Vettel in 2010 gave him a first title, ahead of Fernando Alonso, Mark Webber and Hamilton. Victory for Hamilton in 2014 gave him the title ahead of team—mate Rosberg, but second place to Hamilton in 2016 was enough to clinch the title for Rosberg.

The Constructors’ Championship has never been decided at Yas Marina.

Hamilton has amassed the most points of any driver in Abu Dhabi with 142. The figure is slightly skewed, however, as he won in 2014, a race unique in that it
awarded double points.

Pierre Gasly, Brendon Hartley, Lance Stroll and Stoffel Vandoorne all make their Yas Marina F1 debut this weekend. Stroll hasn’t raced at Yas but the others have all competed here in GP2. Hartley in the 2010 championship, finishing ninth and sixth shortly after making a late—season debut. Gasly raced at Yas in 2014—2016, taking victory last year in the feature race, helping him to the title. Vandoorne appeared in 2014 and 2015, winning the feature race on both occasions. The Belgian also tested F1 cars at the circuit. He drove the McLaren MP4—29H mule, which ran for five laps over two days when Honda introduced their F1 engine at the end of 2014, but managed 99 laps
a year later at the end of season test.

Of the many intra—team battles to be decided this weekend, the tightest are those at Williams, with two points the difference between Massa (42) and Stroll (40), and at McLaren, with Alonso (15) and Vandoorne (13) also separated by two points. The drivers furthest apart are Ferrari’s Vettel and Raikkonen, separated by 102 points.

Ferrari have never won in Abu Dhabi.

Bottas must win and Vettel 9th or lower for Bottas to finish 2nd in the championship.

If Red Bull get both drivers on the podium they’ll score their 149th and 150th F1 podium.


Additional TecPro have been installed in parts of the barriers at turns 8 and 21


There will be two DRS zones at Yas Marina. The first detection point will be 40m before Turn 7, with the activation point 390m after Turn 7. The second detection point will be 50m after Turn 9 with the activation point at the apex of Turn 10.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: