Fast Facts: The Brazilian Grand Prix

F1statThe 2017 Formula One World Championship has been run and won and we have just two rounds remaining. It’s a great time for teams and drivers to throw off the shackles, race flat out and try and develop a few sneaky parts for the 2018 cars. Friday will see some new faces in FP1 and the weather is expected to throw the traditional curve ball – for when it rains in Brazil, it really does rain. @F1StatMan has assembled some Fast Facts to get us to the weekend and the second last round of the 2017 season.

Brazil GP. #F1PPThis is the 45th Brazilian Grand Prix. The race has been of the F1 calendar annually since 1973. After five events in Sao Paulo, the race moved to Rio’s Jacarepagua circuit in 1978, returned to Interlagos in 1979 and 1980 before move to Rio between 1981—1989. The event returned to Interlagos in 1990 and has been held here since.

Alain Prost is the most successful driver at the Brazilian Grand Prix with six wins (1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990). All but the last of Prost’s wins were scored at Jacarepagua. The most successful driver at Interlagos is Michael Schumacher with four wins at the Sao Paulo track.

McLaren are the most successful team with 12 wins. Ferrari are next on the lost with 10 victories. The two teams, however, are tied on eight victories each at Interlagos.

Four current drivers have won at Interlagos. Local hero Felipe Massa took his second career win at his home race in 2006 with Ferrari and he scored his most recent win here in 2008, again with the Italian team. Sebastian Vettel won here in 2010 and 2013 with Red Bull Racing. Kimi Raikkonen won in 2007 with Ferrari and Lewis Hamilton won last year with Mercedes.

This will be Massa’s 14th and final Brazilian Grand Prix. The sec Paulo native last week announced that he will call time on his 15—year F1 career at the end of this season. This race is set to Massa’s 268th grand prix start. To date he has won 11 times, scored 41 podium finishes and has taken pole position 16 times.

Just three drivers have taken a first career win in Brazil, with all being scored here at Interlagos: Brazil’s Carlos Pace won for the first time and only time in 1975, driving for Brabham. Frenchman René Arnoux scored the first of seven career wins here in 1980 with Renault, while the most recent first—time winner is Italy’s Giancarlo Fisichella in 2003, though due to confusion over he result in a chaotic, rain— shortened finish, he had to wait several days before being declared winner.

Five drivers have visited the podium for the first time in Brazil: Jochen Mass (P3, 1975); Elio de Angelis (P2, 1980); Mauricio Gugelmin (P3, 1989); Damon Hill (P2, 1993), and Nick Heidfeld (P3, 2001). Heidfeld’s 2001 podium was the beginning of his march to an F1 record he undoubtedly wishes he no longer held — that of driver with the most podium
finishes without a win. Nick has 13.

Nico Hulkenberg landed the one and only pole position of his career to date at Interlagos in 2010. Only two other drivers have secured a maiden pole position at the Brazilian GP: Ronnie Peterson (1973), and James Hunt (1976).

Toro Rosso’s Brendon Hartley arrives in Brazil fresh from winning his second FIA World Endurance Championship Drivers’ title at the penultimate round of the series in Shanghai last weekend, alongside Porsche team-mates Earl Bamber and Timo Bernhard. Hartley has been on pole at Interlagos before, starting the 2014 WEC round here from the front of the grid.


Additional grooving of the track has been carried out in places where water accumulated the most during last year’s race.

’Sausage’ kerb elements have been installed behind the existing kerbs on the apex of Turns 2, 4, 8 and 10.

Additional tyre barriers have been installed in parts of the barriers at Turns 1, 6, 8 and 10.


There are two DRS zones at Interlagos. The first has a detection point at the apex of Turn Two, with activation 20m after Turn Three. The second zone has its detection point 30m ater Turn 13, with an activation point 60m after Turn 15.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: