Fast Facts: The British Grand Prix


Resident statistical genius @F1Statman takes a look at the iconic British Grand Prix. Considered to be the birthplace of modern Formula One, the first ever F1 Race took place here in 1950. Since then, heroes and villains alike have battled on track, captivating our hearts and minds – and in some cases, reducing us to tears. @F1StatMan adjusts his bowler hat, tucks in to pork pie and presents the following Fast Facts.


This is the 68th British Grand Prix. It is one of only two ever-present races on the F1 World Championship calendar, the other being the Italian Grand Prix. The race has been held five times at Aintree and 12 times at Brands Hatch with the remainder at Silverstone. Silverstone has hosted the race exclusively since 1987.

With 16 victories, Ferrari are the most successful entrant in Britain, ahead of McLaren who have 14. 13 of Femri‘s wins have come at Silverstone, including their first win in F1, the 1951 race won by Jose Froilan Gonzalez.

Jim Clark and Alain Prost are the most successful drivers at the British Grand Prix, with five wins each. All five of Prost’s victories came at Silverstone, whereas Clark won three at Silverstone, and one each at Aintree and Brands Hatch. Lewis Hamilton has the opportunity to join the group this weekend, having won four British Grands Prix.

Hamilton also has a chance to emulate Clark this weekend by winning four British Grands Prix in a row, following victories for Mercedes in 2014, 2015 and 2016. Hamilton’s first win on this circuit came in 2008 for McLaren. Racing for Lotus, Clark won the race in 1962-1965 and again in 1967.

Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel are the other winners of the British Grand Prix in this year’s field. Alonso won for Renault in 2006 and Ferrari in 2011, Raikkonen won for Ferrari in 2007, and Vettel won for Red Bull Racing in 2009.

Since adopting the new start / finish straight in 2011 the driver starting from pole position has won only twice — though these are the last two races here, won by Hamilton in 2015 and 2016. Alonso won from P3 in 2011, while Mark Webber and Nico Rosberg both won from P2 in 2012 and 2013 respectively. Hamilton has won from furthest back on the current layout, starting P6 in 2014.

All three of this year’s Silverstone rookies raced here in junior series Lance Stroll made his FIA European F3 Championship debut at Silverstone in 2015, recording a sixth place, fifth place and a DNF. A year earlier Esteban Ocon appeared in the F3 season-opener, finishing second, first and third. Ocon returned the following year in GP3, finishing sixth in the feature race and second in the sprint. Stoffel Vandoorne made his Silverstone debut in the 2010 Formula Renault F4 Eurocup 1.6, finishing fourth and second. He returned in 2011 for two fourth-place finishes in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and then in the 2014 and 2015 GP2 Series, finishing third in the feature race and ninth in the sprint both times.

Webber’s lap record of 1:33.401 set in 2013 is considerably slower than that set by Fernando Alonso on the same track in 2010, the final year of Bridgestone tyres. Driving for Ferrari, Alonso lapped Silverstone in 1:30.874 in the first grand prix to be held on the new Arena layout. The following year, the pitlane was relocated to its present position. While the track did not change, the control line moved, and thus the record was reset.

Marcus Ericsson’s 50th race for Sauber.

Kevin Magnussen’s 50th race start.

Sainz and Verstappen’s 50th F1 races.


  • The depth of tyre and TecPro barriers has been increased in places around the outside of Turns 1, 2, 6, 9, 15 and 16.
  • New double kerbs have been installed on the exit of Turns 9 and 18.
  • A new debris fence has been installed on the left between turns 14 and 15.


  • There will be DRS zones at Silverstone on the Wellington and Hangar Straights. The detection point of the first zone is 25m before Turn 3 (Village), with the activation point 30m after Turn 5 (Aintree). The second detection point is at Turn 10 (Maggotts) with the activation point SSm after Turn 14 (Chapel).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: