Fast Facts: The Canadian Grand Prix

F1statThis year, Montreal hosts 50th Anniversary of the first running of the Canadian Grand Prix. The 1967 Canadian Grand Prix was held at Mosport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada on August 27, 1967. The 90-lap race was the eighth round of the 1967 Formula One season and was won by Jack Brabham driving for his own Brabham team.

Our resident stats guru @F1StatMan, puts aside the second the second helping of poutine and assembles the following stats.


This will be the 48th Canadian Grand Prix and the 38th held at Montreal’s Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. The race has been held at two other venues: Mosport in 1967, ’69, from ‘71-’74 and ’76-’77, and Mont Tremblant in 1968 and 1970.

Michael Schumacher holds the record for most Canadian Grand Prix wins, with seven. His first win came in 1994 with Benetton and all that followed were registered with Ferrari (’97, ’98, 2000 and 2002-04).

Lewis Hamilton is closing in on the legendary German’s record, however. The Briton scored his maiden F1 win here in 2007 with McLaren and 188 races later he will this weekend seek his sixth Montreal victory. Following his 2007 success, Hamilton won here twice more with McLaren in 2010 and 2012 and with Mercedes in 2015 and last year.

Apart from Hamilton five other drivers have scored their maiden grand prix win in Canada: Gilles Villeneuve in 1978; Thierry Boutsen in 1989; Jean Alesi in 1995; Robert Kubica in 2008, and Daniel Ricciardo in 2014. All Canada’s first-time winners stop atop the podium in Montreal.

Apart from Hamilton, five current drivers have also won here: Kimi Raikkonen in 2005 for McLaren; Fernando Alonso (Renault, 2006); Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing, 2013), and Ricciardo, (Red Bull Racing, 2014). All except Hamilton have just a single Canadian Grand Prix victory to their name.

The most successful constructor at the Canadian Grand Prix is McLaren with 13 wins. Ferrari have 11 victories, while Williams have seven. The most successful constructor in Montreal is Ferrari with 10 wins, while McLaren have nine wins at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Ferrari have far and away the greatest number of podium finishes in Montreal, with 30. Ten behind them are McLaren and Williams, while Benetton are third with nine podium finishes here. Red Bull Racing are next on the list with six.

In 37 events, the Montreal race has been won from pole 17 times. Five of those victories from the front of the grid have come in the past 10 years. Hamilton achieved the feat in 2007, ’10, ’15 and ’16, while Sebastian Vettel won from pole position in 2013.

Michael Schumacher has the most pole positions in Montreal with six (’94-’95, ’97, ’99, 2000-01) followed by Hamilton with five (’07-’08, ’10, ‘15-16) . Only two other current drivers have been on pole here – Sebastian Vettel (2011-13) and Fernando Alonso (2006).

Five drivers have set the first fastest lap of their Formula One career at the Canadian Grand Prix. They are: Patrick Tambay (1983), Jonathan Palmer (1989), Eddie Irvine (1999), Fernando Alonso (2003) and Robert Kubica (2010).

Four drivers have recorded their first career podium finish at the Canadian Grand Prix: Mark Donohue (1971), Stefan Johansson (1985) Eddie Irvine (1995) and Giancarlo Fisichella in 1997.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: