Fast Facts: The Bahrain Grand Prix


Contributor to, @F1StatMan, has delved into his archives and has taken a look at some of the facts surrounding the Bahrain Grand Prix.bahrainpreview2017_page_2.png

This is the 13th Bahrain Grand Prix. The first took place in 2004 and with the exception of 2011 when the race was cancelled it has featured on all calendars since. The 2010 race was the only edition to be held on the longer ‘Endurance Circuit’, featuring an extra loop between Turns Four and Five of the Grand Prix Circuit.

In 2014, for it’s 10th Anniversary Celebrations, the race start was moved to a 6pm slot, with the race being held under floodlights. The Grand Prix has been held at the same time ever since.

The most successful driver at the Bahrain Grand Prix is Fernando Alonso, who has three victories to his name (2005, 2006 for Renault, 2010 for Ferrari). Felipe Massa, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton all have two wins apiece. Curiously, all three drivers have back-to-back wins at the Sakhir Circuit. Massa’s were scored with Ferrari (2007 – 08); Vettel’s pair came with Red Bull Racing (2012 – 13), while Hamilton’s were with Mercedes (2014 – 15).

Three other drivers have won in Bahrain. Michael Schumacher won the inaugural event in 2004 for Ferrari, Jenson Button won with Brawn GP in 2009 and Nico Rosberg won last year’s race with Mercedes.

Alonso may have the most victories in Bahrain but Kimi Raikkonen has the most visits to the podium to his name, with eight. He scored a hat-trick of third places from 2005-2007 and since then the Finn has finished second five times – in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015 and last year.

Romain Grosjean made his first trip to the F1 podium here in 2012. In his 11th Grand Prix start the Frenchman finished third for Lotus behind Raikkonen and race winner Vettel. His second Bahrain podium was in 2013 – a third for Lotus.

Five other current drivers have featured on the podium here – Hamilton has five visits to the rostrum to his credit, Massa, Alonso and Vettel have three, while Sergio Perez raced to third place here in 2014.

Ferrari is the most successful constructor at this race, with four wins (2004, 2007 – 08 and 2010). Mercedes have three wins (2014 – 16), while Red Bull Racing (2012 – 13) and Renault (2005 – 06) have two, with Brawn GP winning in 2009.

Stoffel Vandoorne made his Formula One race debut here last year. The Belgian driver stood in for Fernando Alonso who was declared unfit to race, following a crash two weeks earlier at the Australian Grand Prix. Vandoorne qualified in 12th position and drove to 10th in the race, scoring a point on his Formula One debut.

For drivers have multiple pole positions here. Schumacher (2004, 2006), Vettel (2010, 2012), Nico Rosberg (2013 – 14) and Lewis Hamilton (2015 – 16).

Four other drivers have been on pole: Alonso (2005), Massa (2007), Robert Kubica (2008) and Jarno Trulli in 2009. From 12 runnings, the race has been won from pole five times. The Bahrain Grand Prix has never been won from further back than fourth on the grid.

If Lewis Hamilton or Jolyon Palmer qualify in pole position for the 2017 Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix on pole, it will be the 250th pole position for a British driver in Formula One.

The DRS sectors at the Bahrain Grand Prix will be the same as in 2016. The detection point of the first zone is 10m before Turn Nine and the activation point is 50m after Turn 10. The second zone has a detection point 108m before Turn 14, with activation occurring 270m after Turn 15.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: